Vol. 2 | Chapter Four: Rupture and Reunion (i)

In early winter of the 320th year of Pars, the kingdom fell into the greatest tumult it had ever experienced since the accession of Hero King Kai Khosrow…

CONTINUE READING

Notes under the cut:

Not much to say about the update for once. Instead, I’ll just point out the essay I recently ninja-posted, “Pioneers of the Secondary World Fantasy Boom” by Mii Mimura. Mimura is a light novel critic who, in my understanding, was (and maybe still is) pretty active in Japanese science fiction & fantasy fandom from all the way back during the 70s. Her perspective on the evolution of Japanese fantasy (she traces it from the early heroic fantasies, to the sword-and-sorcery antiheroes, to the D&D/RPG influenced titles) is pretty interesting and delivers a much more accurate picture of the context in which Arslan was first published than I think has been previously discussed in the English-speaking sphere. Definitely worth a read.

(That said, I haven’t really had a chance to proofread/fact-check everything yet, so if something seems weird or inaccurate in the essay let me know.)

Anyway, one nitpicky wording note: this isn’t the first time 正義 [seigi] has been mentioned in relation to Hirmiz. Last time, though, I remember translating it as “justice” (which is the default translation in my head, thanks a lot One Piece :P). But here it’s used in conjunction with 正統 [seitou] (i.e. “rightful [Shah]”). In other words, that particular sentence revolves around mild wordplay with 正 (“correct/proper”), so I went with “righteousness” instead to highlight that, though I usually make an effort to keep specific words/phrases consistent for each character if I recognize them. Actually, I probably shouldn’t call it “wordplay” because character compounds are inherent to the language, but the sentence is structured deliberately, I think. And of course even in English “justice” and “righteousness” give off slightly different vibes despite being synonyms. That said, glancing at the previous context (Vol 1, 3-iv), it seems like “righteousness” would have been difficult to work around. It’s something I’d probably take a closer look at if I ever went back for a round of serious editing though.

(Speaking of consistent wording, I actually totally forgot that Afarid wasn’t the first time Hirmiz called someone a wench. 😄 Glad that worked out, though the previous instance was a translation of the gender-neutral and mildly derogatory こやつ [koyatsu] while he refers to Afarid as the gender-specific and not necessarily derogatory 小娘 [komusume]…)

And a minor semi-correction: I previously translated the not-an-elder as needing an entire year to fully restore his powers. Realized a while back (but haven’t gotten around to fixing it yet) that it should’ve been something like “until the end of the year”.

13 thoughts on “Vol. 2 | Chapter Four: Rupture and Reunion (i)

  1. Clau says:

    Thanks so much again for those 3 last chapters. Just caught up 😀 Love your translation skills and attention to details, as always. I’m enjoying all the forms of Arslan thanks to your novel-translation, manga and anime now. Interesting how some of your name picks were chosen as the official ones as well. I still think they should have gone with more of yours 😉

    • T. E. Waters says:

      Oh, were they really? That’s cool to hear! I keep telling myself I’m going to sit down and marathon the anime one of these days, but just haven’t gotten around to it…

  2. quetzal says:

    I know you do this for fun but I wonder, will you translate them in order or will consider skip the ones the anime covered and go for the +7 and forward?

    Hehe I want to read the novels and know how the series progress so I wonder just in case the anime stops because sadly I can’t read Japanese….

    • T. E. Waters says:

      I’ve considered skipping ahead before, but going in order makes it easier to keep things consistent. Also, from reading summaries of the first season it seemed the anime actually started leaving out some subplots in the second half. I don’t know if I just didn’t get accurate summaries or if they’ve gone back to address that stuff in the new season, but considering how the books are so unevenly adapted (book one took 9 or 10 episodes while book two took about half that), I think it’s more interesting to see how the books develop as originally written.

  3. wafi says:

    please keep translating this novel. really love it

  4. I have yet to fully read your translations, but I’m so grateful you’re doing them! I look forward to the future chapter!

  5. Ayesha says:

    Wonderful translations here. I truly enjoy them. Impatiently looking forward to the next update. Good work.

  6. artem says:

    Thank you for this translation. Have just finished it. It is a really great work! Will be waiting for the next updates!

  7. M.A.KH says:

    thanks for translating story pal
    M.A.KH

  8. Dorope says:

    Thanks for translating the series!^^
    I just started to read the books a week or so ago, and they’ve already become one of my favourites!
    By the way, I really love the language use in your translations(:
    Please keep translating!

  9. dede says:

    Thank you so much!~~ :3 I just finished the anime so i´m researching eveyhing. You are so kind to translate the novel for fans.

Leave a Reply

